RiseNC

Raising awareness to civil atrocities, civil inequalities, and Constitutional injustices occurring within the state of North Carolina…

Opossum Bill

The NC Legislature has a new bill to allow Exclude Opossums from Wildlife Laws. The bill has already passed the NC House of Representatives and has been voted on once in the NC Senate.

House Bill 574 Follow the link
http://www.ncleg.net/gascripts/BillLookUp/BillLookUp.pl?Session=2015&BillID=H574

Sponsors of the Bill – Roger West, Mike Hager, Pat McElraft, Marvin Lucas, Jimmy Dixon, Elmer Floyd, Ken Waddell, Chris Whitmire

Roger.West@ncleg.net, Mike.Hager@ncleg.net, Pat.McElraft@ncleg.net, Marvin.Lucas@ncleg.net, Jimmy.Dixon@ncleg.net, Elmer.Floyd@ncleg.net, Ken.Waddell@ncleg.net, Chris.Whitmire@ncleg.net

The bill has been Referred To Committee On Rules and Operations of the Senate Follow the link
http://www.ncleg.net/gascripts/Committees/Committees.asp?sAction=ViewCommittee&sActionDetails=Senate%20Standing_82

Committee Member of the Rules and Operations of the Senate are
Chairman Sen. Tom Apodaca

Vice Chairman Sen. Tommy Tucker

Members Sen. Chad Barefoot, Sen. Dan Blue, Sen. Andrew C. Brock, Sen. Harry Brown, Sen. Ben Clark, Sen. Joel D. M. Ford, Sen. Kathy Harrington, Sen. Ralph Hise, Sen. Brent Jackson, Sen. Floyd B. McKissick, Jr., Sen. Wesley Meredith, Sen. E. S. (Buck) Newton, Sen. Bill Rabon, Sen. Josh Stein, Sen. Trudy Wade
Tom.Apodaca@ncleg.net, Tommy.Tucker@ncleg.net, Chad.Barefoot@ncleg.net, Dan.Blue@ncleg.net, Andrew.Brock@ncleg.net, Harry.Brown@ncleg.net, Ben.Clark@ncleg.net, Joel.Ford@ncleg.net, Kathy.Harrington@ncleg.net, Ralph.Hise@ncleg.net, Brent.Jackson@ncleg.net, Floyd.McKissick@ncleg.net, Wesley.Meredith@ncleg.net, Buck.Newton@ncleg.net, Bill.Rabon@ncleg.net, Josh.Stein@ncleg.net, Trudy.Wade@ncleg.net

If you are a NC resident please send an email to your senator. Find your NC Senator at this link
http://www.ncleg.net/representation/WhoRepresentsMe.aspx

If you are not a NC Citizen, please send an email to Phil Berger, President Pro Tempore of Senate at
Phil.Berger@ncleg.net

If you feel real inspired email the Sponsors of the Bill and the Committee Members of the Rules and Operations of the Senate.

Check out the Facebook Page for more Details & Updates

News Articles

NC House OKs another Possum Drop bill Colin Campbell 04/15/2015

Lawmakers not dropping possum issue Mark Binker 4/6/2015 WRAL.com

Did the possum drop? Dec 31, 2014 By Brandon Evans

New Year’s Eve ‘possum drop’ won’t use live animal after PETA complaint 12/31/14 Associated Press

New Year’s Eve ‘Possum Drop’ Organizer Says Animal Will Be Killed Before Event By Stephen Messenger 12/30/2014

‘Possum Drop’ organizer won’t use live opossum this year By Craig Jarvis 12/30/2014

It’s PETA vs. the Possum Drop in a New Year’s legal struggle By David Zucchino LA Times 12/27/2014

The New Year’s Dropping of the Opossum CBS January 2, 2014

Brasstown Possum to Drop at Midnight ABC Report January 1, 2014

NC judge: No more possum drop on New Year’s Eve Novermber 13, 2012

N.C. Wildlife Resources Commission drops appeal of opossum-drop ruling Feburary 1, 2013

State folds in lawsuit over N.C. Possum Drop February 2, 2013

N.C. bill would allow live animal in ‘Possum Drop’ February 5, 2013

NC House Bill 66 Filed February 5, 2013

Possum Drop bill hits the ground running February 6, 2013

N.C. Senate Mulls Absurd Bill to Bring Back Banned Opossum Drop Jeff Mackey

Bob Barker urges NC senators to oppose possum bill Associated Press February 16, 2013

Possum Bill discussed in Senate February 21, 2013

Possum Drop bill heading to N.C. governor’s desk Associated Press February 22,2013

Please note the comments from your Representatives

Committee members regarded the bill with humor.

“What’s the need for this bill?” asked Rep. John Blust, R-Guilford.

“So we can exhibit a captured animal,” replied the bill’s sponsor, Rep. Roger West, R-Cherokee.

“I think it’s one of the finest bills I’ve ever seen,” remarked Rep. Leo Daughtry, R-Johnston.

Kidding aside, Wildlife Resources Commissioner Gordon Myers told the committee the bill is needed because the ruling by Administrative Law Judge Fred Morrison called into question the agency’s statutory power to issue permits for the exhibit of any native animal, even in zoos or rescue centers.

Please note the comments in Senate

Davis said his mind wasn’t changed by a letter he received from longtime game-show host and animal welfare activist Bob Barker.

“If you would think for a moment,” Davis joked, referring to Barker’s famous tag line, “If you could ask an opossum…would you rather be gently lowered in a Plexiglas box or be spayed or neutered?”

Sen. Louis Pate, R-Wayne, called that “the unkindest cut of all.”

The comments were in my opinion were disrespectful and an insult to Mr. Bob Barker.  Mr. Barker gave Duke University $1 Million. 

TV Personality Bob Barker Donates $1 Million to Create Endowment for Study of Animal Rights Law

NC House of representatives and the Vote for the Possum Drop

North Carolina Senate and the Vote for the Possum Drop

 

Be Sociable, Share!

Leave a Comment